So I can’t find a good answer on this anywhere. When your matching and chaining gems if you get 4 or more you get another turn to go again. However if you happen to do the same color match to 6 gems 3 gems on top or beside each other the system looks at this as you made 2 seperate matches on the same round. If there were no other matches that were greater than 4 the system finishes your turn and then hands control over to the AI.
So as the player I see 6 gems of the same color side by side matching yet the AI says this doesn’t count towards a free turn.
I think the rule is: 2 combines in different directions that hit each other, are added together (minus the 1 gem where they cross/touch).
So 2x3 crossing/touching like: _| or + will both count as a 5er.
Two combines of three on top of one another count as separate combines of three.
Two combines of three, side by side, should not really be possible, or count as a 6er.
Can you give an example of the beside each other situation you are referring to?
I’m not sure if I understand what you’re saying. In order to get a 5 match, the only shapes that work are 5 in a row, a +, a T or an L (or any of these extended by more gems). If you have two rows of 3 on top of each other, the game sees that as two 3-matches.
I’ll use red for my example the leter R represents a gem.
As for when you see them most, mainly looping, however I’ve seen them quite a few times when you use a card that explodes multiple gems on the board like Gorgotha, Dargon Soul and a few others.
The reason you get it during looping is because if you get a massive build up of one color gem then start looping skulls, every now and then you’ll get the perfect amount just right and it is possible to cause a loop that clears almost 90% of the gems on the screen.
I figured that the system is looking for 4 or more gems to be conneceted and would automatically disqualify a multiple matches of 3 gems. However in this case the gems are actually touching themselves so you see a block of 6 clear off and yet you are not offered a 2nd turn.
I don’t think Jainus is arguing about which came first. How does Bejeweled handle matches of 5 in an L or + shape? Do they count as two threes or as a 5? Does Bejeweled’s rule set even allow for a difference (never played that particular Popcap game)?
I haven’t played Bejewelled in a few years, but I’m almost certain that it takes a T or an L or a + as two 3-matches. To get a 5 match (which generates a hyper-gem, or something), it has to be 5 in a row.