Tower of Doom UI "Limitations"

So last dev Q & A we had I asked if it would be possible to have an in-game method of knowing what rooms contained what scrolls.

I got the typical “It can’t be done because of UI limitations” response.

Is it just me or does it really not seem that hard to link rooms to a guild and when someone defeats the room it changes a symbol associated with that room to what was inside it for everyone in that guild. No reporting, no spread sheets, just a nice fluid system.

I’m not a programmer or a game designer, but I really don’t see what the issue is here. Anyone else explain it to me? Unless the devs intentionally want everyone to be inconvenienced with constantly having to check a spreadsheet outside of the game.

Am I the only one even wanting a feature like that?

10 Likes

I am a programmer, but I don’t know what their codebase looks like or how they are designing GoW at all, so I can’t really comment on possible limitations.

I just know that I could figure out a way to put logos there after they’ve been discovered once. I could see syncing being an issue though, since it’s a multi-user game mode.

But like you say, might be a design choice…

2 Likes

This translates to: There is not currently a spot on the existing screen layout to display it, and they don’t want to bother with any actual changes to it.

No, I think almost everyone does.

4 Likes

No space at all.

7 Likes

I think this idea was posted here since months / almost ToD release - and ist just logical and cant be so hard to realize, but there has never been a reaction about it i think.

Just this one more time I’ll complain about the short guild chat history, it really shows when TOD is on… the first rooms are already a mystery for those in the guild who didn’t start playing yesterday as people update the rooms one by one… We do need to talk about other things too, so yeah, the OP’s idea would be more than welcomed in our guild…

1 Like