Thoughts on summoned troops

Although this may be fairly old news to many of you, as I’m fairly new to the mobile version of the game, I’m very disappointed to find that summoned troops are a shadow of their original card incarnations. They don’t get any unlocked traits OR affect troop bonuses, is that right?

I’ll use my team as an example. Here’s my lineup:

Purple Banner

Hero (Wicked Scythe/Necromancer)
Valk
Giant Spider
Keeper of Souls

Now, I’ve had great success with this team so far. And I knew the downside going in that sooner or later, a spider swarm is going to pop up in my lead spot with its tiny attack score. I accept that. I figured if I invested some traitstones into the spider swarm, at LEAST I could count on dealing some poisoned skull damage.

But no. Nothing but a blank slate.

And, looking ahead to traiting out KoS, the 50% chance that something like a spider swarm could become a Wight is looking pretty good, but no benefits of the Wight’s traits/undead status.

I don’t agree with that. I mean, what’s the point of even having a standalone card for a creature like Spider Swarm, whose existence is mostly used through summoning, if you can’t take advantage of its traits when you summon them, however weak they might be?

What are your thoughts on this?

2 Likes

I agree with you. Summoning level of the creature should be 15 at most since its the highest level a common troop can have, but the troop must have unlocked traits on it (if you spent traitstones on it the it should be unlocked even when summoned in battle). Also those troops must get kingdom bonuses, because there’s no reason for them not to get them.

1 Like

And if summoned troops would have traits that you unlocked on that troop that would be all the more reason to spend traits on those troops. I have fully traited spider swarm and i will o probably never ever use it. .