New player to Gems of War - looking for some direction

Hello all,

I am new to Gems of War, but not new to Puzzle Quest. I played the first Puzzle Quest until my fingers bled all over my old Nintendo DS, and never found anything like it since. Recently I was shocked to find that Gems of War is Puzzle Quest, and I got it going right away. I’m also not new to freemium games. I play Clash Royale, Star Wars Galaxy of Heroes, and Shop Heroes all the time and I participate in guilds and such…

What I was hoping to get from some kind person is a little direction for a new person on Gems of War. And since I am not sure exactly how to elaborate on that, I figure I would start with a couple questions and see if that gets me going.

1. Guilds.

I joined a guild and I seem to get a reward in my inbox every so often, but I have no idea what generates it and how I can contribute to the guild. The tutorial was all fine and good for how to play the Puzzle games, but it pretty much left me high and dry as to what to do in the guild. Could someone please give me some pointers?

1. Troops and Crafting

Of course I know how to combine troops and stuff to create teams. And I understand that souls allow you to upgrade the troop, increasing stats and stuff. I also understand what traitstones do and how to use them. Ascension, is the fuzzy part for me. I understand that each time you sacrifice a duplicate card that it takes you closer to ascending the card. But what would be a reason that you would keep a duplicate card? What other uses do duplicate cards have and why would I not just sacrifice all of my duplicates?

1. Gold and Souls

Since these commodities are obviously limited, what should new players primarily use them for in the beginning?

Thanks for your time in reading this. I really want to enjoy this game to the full. Puzzle Quest is stinking awesome.

1 Like

Guilds Tasks are what gives you the items from your Guild. Donating Gold towards the tasks will finish the task.