505stained (aka Bloodstained)

Bloodstained came to Xbox game pass recently. So over the weekend I started playing it. And let me tell you that 505 QA isn’t just doing a shitty job with GoW.
Bloodstained constantly crashes on my Xbox One (other platforms have other issues as well). And unlike most games today with plentiful save points (this one is designed not to). In Bloodstained you’ll go hours without saving so when a crash happens it can be truly painful. Whether it’s 3 hours of progress or 5 minutes. It doesn’t matter… I’ve had to learn the hard way not to read book cases until I find a save point. Which then also makes for more back tracking. Similar to GoW, Bloodstained is such an amazing game otherwise that you deal with the unfortunate fact… That 505 clearly doesn’t care about Quality Assurance and are lucky AF to publish seperate games created by Steve Fawkner and Koji Igarashi.
It’s like looking at Starry Night and once in a while it’ll blind you temporarily. But hey… It’s still starry night so you deal.

I did the whole game on Steam and not so much crash…
And 505 games is the publisher, so I don’t think they are responsible for the QA…
In fact, I think the issue is within the dev team, that the game was delayed several times and they finally released the game as they can…

You should be happy that 505 games accepted to publish this game and give them more time to polish it.

It could be the opposite. 505 games could have forced them to publish sooner than ready. There’s no way to know.

Bloodstained had quite a few progression issues when it first came out. A lot of it has been cleaned up after the first few patches, but there’s still more things that need to be fixed.

1 Like

They QA for GoW, so I’d assume the same would be true for another small development team game.

Honestly, I didn’t follow how it happens, but they get 5.5M dollars from Kickstarter and still decided to be published by 505 games… Their choice.