Thinking ahead: Ensure that the game will exist after its online functionality ends. (adaptation to SIngle-Player)

Well, we all know that it will happen someday.
Maybe sooner or later. Well, If it does, I think that this game should not be forgotten.
Gems of War adaptation with minor changes that don’t require online functionality, similar to Puzzle Quest or Puzzle Quest 2. The main goal would be to preserve the core mechanics of the game.

• Will this F2P game become a Single-Player game?
  • Will it have a price tag and certain adaptations? (30-45 € / $)
  • Will you be able to import your online profile?
  • Reworked Guild System.
  • Reworked or changed Loot System.
  • Possible DLCs?

I believe that there is a great potential for this, but since I am not a coder, I am just expressing my views here. I hope that @Sirrian and @Kafka can provide some insights about this.

Sadly like many games made in the last 5 years, this game will die once online functionality is removed. Everything in this game is server based.

If it can be stored on a local machine, then it’s not an issue, but it would require some tweaks.

That’s also one of the main reasons why I don’t invest much into F2P games. Because they are time-limited and heavily dependent on the overall activity of other players. With a single-player game, you can relive it any time you want with no hassle.

Knowing what little I know, the amount of effort required would make it cost far more than you’re willing to pay. You can’t just copy the server backend code and paste it into the Unity project. It’s talking to DB servers that can’t run on smartphones or consoles. Those parts would need to be replaced with either SQLite or some other kind of persistence. That’s a pretty major rewrite on its own. But then every part that looks for other players like GW and ToD and even PvP would need some kind of new algorithm to generate fake data.