Poor art design of new mythic troop Champion of Gaard

I am a digital art designer myself and I’ve worked with a lot of different digital companies for many years. I’m here to say that I think Gems of War seriously need some better art designers. Take a look at some old troops especially low rarity cards . The shadow and light contrast, color, and the texture detail of them surely looked better than the new ones. Some pieces of work I wanna mention here: Alastair, Bone dragon, Dive Ishbaala, and Mercy. Look at the shadow effect, contrast to the background, and the detail even on their face expression.

But look at the newest mythic Champion of Gaard… The pink smoke behind him is poorly done, and also the face of the knight, is lacking so much detail and looked blurry. If you don’t understand what I’m saying, make a comparison to Champion of Anu, I’m sure you will feel the difference. This is not different art style, but different amount of time and effort they put into this. We can see it by a glance.

To me, this is a piece of rushed out work, or maybe made by people who don’t really care what they are gonna put out to the public. Maybe hire some passionate people to work for your art department. These kind of work or, I should say attitude really need some adjustment.

However, We are just some random people on the internet, saying things probably don’t really matter to you but honest true. So no need to get offended so easily.

4 Likes

I’m nicknaming him Cpt. Tinyhead.

3 Likes

I am not an expert, but I believe you’re right about this.

The latest troop art is disturbing. I think that the head is too tiny and not proportionate to rest of the body. It feels wrong.

I also noticed several troops that have probably some visual glitches, one I can think of, I forgot about the others, is Bonnie Rose. Just check both hands and those fingers.

1 Like

Horrible. A child in a man’s armor.