Losing huge amounts of 'automatic' (AI) battles

Since the last mini patch they put out (~June 6 or 7), I’m constantly losing ‘defense’ battles that are automatic (where the game takes my defending team and fights battles for me). Eg, I come back from fighting a ‘ranked’ battle against, say, the middle guy where I win maybe 18 pts., but when I get back to my stats I’ve ‘lost’ so many auto battles that I’m hardly making any progress towards the next tier. I’m using my best team for ‘defending’. I RARELY lose when I play MYSELF! The AI evidently is nowhere as good as I am, and it is not properly defending me. My level is ~264. I’m not a newbie here and this is really ticking me off. Whenever my team DOES win (rarely), it wins me 3 or maybe 6 pts. When I lose (much more often), it sticks me for like an average of 11 or 12 pts. What is going on?! Thanks.

By the way, just for clarification, on my stats page I’ve won 33 and lost none when I’VE played myself. When the AI plays for me it has won 4 games and lost 23! I’m using the same team for both. That’s pretty bad AI, to say the least. I’m sinking big time. Help!

So you’re saying that you usually win when playing against the AI… but somehow expect it to do better against other players? It’s the same AI, whether it’s playing for you or against you.

The AI isn’t very smart, and does not perform well with complex teams. It’s best to give it troops that work well independently, rather than ones that must be chained together or whose spells should only be used under some circumstances and not others.

Like goblins or something similar. I recommend finding a team from the story line and buffing it like crazy. (looking at you knight team)

I’ll try my Goblin team and let you know. It’s a pretty pumped up team right now. Thanks.