Interesting math regarding dev comments and the 4.7 update

I’m relatively new to GoW (8 or so months long player?) but I’m an avid/daily player. Very new to the forums, only registered a few days ago. So I am catching up on all the drama from the past and this 4.7 update announcement.

I just did some quick math, and I found this to be really interesting.

I’ve seen mention a few times of one of the main devs stating that the average player plays 26 matches a day, and that is too many. (What? Did that REALLY happen? What game dev says you’re playing our game too much. Anyway). Ok, so the average is 26, and thats too much. Got it.

The new cost of unlocking LT’s will be 46.8 million gold.

30 members per guild is, assuming fair sharing, 1.56 million gold per player.

Now, this is the biggest “gotcha” number in here, but it struck me as funny. My current gold bonus is 177% - 2% pet, 100% armor, 25% VIP, and I ponied up for the ring of wonders and have that 50% bonus right now. With that bonus, and running a Cederic x2 team, I currently get 8,476 gold per L12 explore run. So since that’s my standard “I’m trying to make gold as fast as possible” number, thats the number I used as “typical” for guild members. I know that number is mine alone, and most will make less, and some will make a lot more. But, hang with me here for a moment…

1.56 million gold, divided by 8,476 gold per fight is 184 fights (184.04 but whatever). 184 fights, divided by 7 days?

26.29 fights per day.

WHAT?! I laughed out loud when I saw that number.

So, to unlock LT’s, you need a fully participating guild, who have at least a 177% gold bonus (which absolutely REQUIRES spending real $$$ to either get VIP or Ring bonuses), running L12 explores, donating all of that gold, AND THEY NEED TO EACH DO AT LEAST 26 MATCHES PER DAY to reach that number!

WHAT?!?