Feedback from a new player: playing catch up & "end game" PvP teams

I started playing a few months ago, and have some feedback I’d like to run by the community and developers.

I broke it up into two major sections: “New Player Catch Up” and “End game PvP teams”

New Player Catch Up

• TLDR: This game is very discouraging to new players after the first couple weeks after they get a feel for what it will take to “get into” the game.

I knew that since the game has been out for a few years, there would be a larger gap between me and long-time players, but I think the game needs a few changes to help retain new players.

I tried to break up my feedback into 3 sections: declaring the problems, my opinions, and then suggestions.

Major Issues I had:

1. I didn’t realize how insanely beneficial membership in an active Guild was until after I joined one.
  2. The weekly content is very difficult to participate in due to:
    • “Explore” lockout on Kingdoms until entire Quest line is completed.
    • Missing weekly bonus troops, and/or insufficiently leveled bonus troops.
  3. High opportunity cost when investing souls/stones in troops.
  4. After a month of playing, I had the demotivating sense that I was stuck at the bottom of a very huge power curve to reach “mid-game.”

My opinion on these issues:

1. Guilds:
  • Most Guilds in the in-game finder are inactive, so I joined some mostly-dead ones at first. Since I couldn’t get 1500 seals/week without spending a silly number of hours playing, it was difficult to find an active guild.
  • Joining an active guild gave me a couple hundred new troops once Monday hit, and tons more gems than I’d gotten from the $5 daily gem pack. Basically, Guildies completing Tasks gave me a HUGE jump up the player power-curve and I previously had no clue about.
  • Good guilds tell new players to invest gold in Kingdoms instead of Tasks, but it makes me feel like a freeloader.
2. Weekly Content: