Does this game need better rewards for events?

I have been playing this game for almost 6 months now. I got some of my real life friends into it, which has really added to the experience. 4 of us play quite a lot, while the other 2 are newer to the game.

I like the fact that this game is adding new things frequently to keep it fresh. They’ve added quite a bit since I’ve started.

My criticism is that the new things don’t seem like they are worth the time. The Tower of Doom is a neat idea, but it is a lot of grinding and coordinating with the guild and the rewards are boring. It takes a guild of 30 people putting in many hours each and you get a few Orbs.

My friends are complaining about this, and I feel the same. There just aren’t good incentives to put in the time it takes to do well at these things. This game does a lot of things well, but sometimes it feels like a grind.

5 Likes

Lots of discussions about this, but in a word ‘Yes’. Imo ToD event rewards need a huge buff.

4 Likes

Yeah there are a bunch of threads about this already but I think “yes”.

The mid-game phase of GoW is extraordinarily long and it’s very hard to feel like you’re making progress. I think shortening it with some reward injections or even some events that are “not worth it” for endgamers but “very rewarding” for midgamers would be nice. The only realistic way to accomplish that, I think, is a level cap-based leaderboard. Let the endgamers fight each other for something shiny, let the midgamers fight for “more, lower-level prizes.”

I dunno. Either way I think the problem is “endgamers don’t need more rewards, but everyone else does, and endgamers disagree with the premise they don’t need more rewards.”