Do you sometimes worry, you are part of the problem?

Gaming is being pushed aside by free treadmills like this one, that you are expected to pay to play them as little as possible. And I feel, I should have made a difference to avoid this.

I am not exactly what you would call a good customer.
Ever since I started playing, back then on C128 (the mostly forgotten upgrade of the C64), a huge share of my collection came from copied disks, later CDs, then emule (nowadays I don’t do that anymore; my piled up unplayed Steam library is large enough to get me through the next few centuries). Bought versions were from discount bins and game-zine CDs or used ebay purchases. On Steam, I got my idea, how much I am willing to spend on a title I like, which is usually about a quarter of what the publisher imagines. I think, I can count the number of times, I spent over 20€/40DM for a game in my life, on one hand.
When I bought Puzzle Quest many years ago, it was a heavily reduced CD as well. As a result, we got Gems of War…

When delivering a high quality product does not pay off, the industry produces cheap trash instead.
Whenever I think of it, I sense that I did not do enough to reward good games.
Did you?

Short answer:
yes.

Long answer:
I have no problem spending money if the prices are reasonable on software/games/dlc if I enjoy it and use it/play regularly. But the “price” is obviously a individual discussion point for everyone. Even with the current steam sale I wouldn’t buy the gow dlc’s because they’re useless/overpriced. Also the steam exclusive pet at least once was ~90%off, so the current 50% is a joke. :wink: I’d buy fan merchandise though, whatever, a gow mug or maybe a shirt. :slight_smile: Why not, but, it seems such stuff is not available.