Crikey! as an error message

Just finished a treasure map & instead of getting the final tally screen I got a pop-up box that said “Sorry” and “Crikey!” & then it booted me back to the main screen.

Mostly posting this because I didn’t know that “Crikey!” could be an error message and it was funny.

5 Likes

1 Like

Given that “crikey!” is an all-purpose relatively mild expletive in the local dialect of English that the devs and I share, I think it works quite well as an error message. :smiley:

Somewhat jealous that I haven’t seen this error message though… :smirk:

2 Likes

I spent 3 months in Australia and never once heard anyone say Crikey!

Now I feel cheated.

1 Like

As a professional coder I would routinely put “odd” error messages while I was debugging, but remove them once they debugging was done. Chances are this was a similar debug box that got left in, especially if it is rare and is followed by a force close.

3 Likes

That message is reserved for when something REALLY weird happens on the server, and the game gets into an unusual state that it can’t recover from. As @Rasper correctly said… it was a corner case that should never have been able to be visible to a player!

I’ve just gone looking to see if I can figure it out. I found 2 cases that could trigger it:

• It might be able to trigger if you switched up devices while playing a treasure game. Not 100% certain of this, but I can almost see how it might happen.
  • It can happen due to some treasure game hacks being used (but we know you didn’t hack the game @Personette, we checked your account for that).
  • The only other way it might happen is if the internet accidentally corrupted a message on the way to the server in a very unusual manner.

Given the fact that we have millions of requests back and forth to our servers every day, I guess that last case might actually occur now and again. We’ll definitely look into it (and the first multi-device issue too)

2 Likes