Gems of War: Unofficial Novel

Writer’s Note: I’m a graphic designer by day and I write in the evenings, so I am by no means a professional writer. I’m working on my first book and in my down time I’ve begun writing some Gems of War stories just to mix things up. I figured I would share them with you in case any of you find them interesting. Keep in mind these are rough write ups. so they haven’t been thoroughly edited. If any of you have professional editing experience and are interesting in editing for free then feel free to it me up in the messages, otherwise, enjoy!

Prologue

“We should turn back.” Said Peter, looking back nervously from where they came.

“What, so you’re scared now?” Asked his friend Jasper in a mocking tone.

“No,” said Peter, struggling to find his words, “It’s just that we’ve never been nearly this far. I wonder if it’s smart.”

“Of course it’s smart!” Jasper replied, “We’re going to find the best gems out here!”

The gems were scattered throughout the lands and in their spare time the boys liked to collect them. They would then take the gems into town and trade them for trinkets, or money to buy trinkets. The gems were then sorted by color, melted down and placed into vials. The vials were sold at a premium because drinking the nector of the gems could produce magical powers. There were six different gem colors: Blue, Brown, Yellow, Green, Purple and Red. Most people could only derive magical powers from one specific color while others reacted to multiple colors. The magic fueled all of the lands, with people discovering them, buying them, selling them and using them all the time.