Skull match request

Why an entangled unit insists to match skulls?

Is it possible to make a change to the AI so that at least these situations do not occur anymore?

Thank you…

The upgraded AI that exists on console is slightly better about doing that, and on defense, can be modified to take skulls less frequently in general. Once the Unity version rolls out to mobile, they should also unlock the upgraded AI for you (might be a 3.1 thing, who knows?). Even then, you’ll still see the AI doing the same thing, but it won’t always take skulls even when entangled.

Improved AI or not… it’s foolish to match skulls when the first unit is entangled… :slight_smile:

Generally true, but there are times when I do it myself (if I think the consequences of making a different match are worse than wasting a turn). I don’t think the AI programming is quite at the level of the kind of situational recognition that you’re looking for, though.

Well… I’m a programmer and I can suppose it’s just an easy “if” to add to the code.

It’s not always foolish to skip skulls if the result would be the opponent hitting you with skulls. Sometimes it’s in fact a good idea.

Sure, that would be easy to add to the code, but there are a whole series of status effects that would also influence how a team should ideally be played.

For example, I generally don’t cast Mercy unless I can get an extra turn by doing it, but sometimes if I have some troublesome status effects on my troops (like deathmark or stun), it’s worthwhile to cast it even if I don’t get a bunch of mana or an extra turn. This is just one example, but I could probably come up with a whole series of status-effect problems that the AI could take into account. These would get increasingly complicated to resolve as more and more specific situations are added to the program. You’ve pointed out one example, but if you take that step, why not the next, and the next? The AI is what it is, and we play to what it does.